MEETING OF THE PREMIER'S EMPLOYMENT AND GROWTH ADVISORY COUNCIL

20 October 2010

Polokwane- On Friday, 22 October 2010, the Premier of Limpopo, Mr Cassel Mathale met members of the Premier's Employment and Growth Advisory Council (PEGAC) in Polokwane. This was the second of the bi-annual meetings of PEGAC in the current year. PEGAC is comprised of distinguished private sector and society leaders, assembled to among others; provide advisory and facilitative support in the implementation of the Limpopo Employment, Growth and Development Plan (LEGDP).

The meeting dealt mainly with progress regarding the functioning of the eight Technical Working Groups (TWGs), review the LEGDP Implementation Action Plan (IAP) and assess High Impact Growth Catalytic Projects.

By and large, the eight TWGs grapple with matters that include the Green Economy, Enterprise and Industrial Development, Integrated Infrastructure Development, Social Cohesion, ICT & the Knowledge-Enabled Economy, Skills for the Economy, Trade and Investment / Finance and Funding.

In fact, the TWGs of PEGAC focus on providing an ongoing LEGDP IAP review, facilitative support and advice on better approaches for the successful implementation of the specific LEGDP Key Action Programmes.

Primarily, the role of PEGAC is to seek strategic partnerships involving the private sector, civil society and government with the aim of leveraging on high growth catalytic projects to channel the province's resources towards job creation and improved quality of life of the people of Limpopo.

PEGAC members have impressive socio-economic backgrounds, as a catalogue of their attributes below attests:

- Mr Luther Mashaba, the Executive Manager of South African Operations at the Development Bank of South Africa (DBSA)
- Mr Brian Molefe, the Chairperson of the Trade & Investment / financial & Funding TWG and previous Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Public Investment Corporation (PIC)
- Mr Mxolisi Mgojo, Exxaro
- Mr Thomas Garner, the Manager of Growth Energy at Exxaro
- Prof. PA Mbati, the Chairperson of Skills for the Limpopo Economy Technical Working Group (TWG) and also the Vice Chancellor of the University of Venda
- Prof. MN Mokgalong, the Deputy Chairperson of the Green Economy TWG and also the Vice Chancellor / Principal of the University Of Limpopo
- Mr Thembi Nwendamutswu, the Chairperson of Integrated Infrastructure TWG and also the CEO of the Independent Development Trust (IDT)
- Mr Raymond Patel, the CEO of Metal Engineering Related SETA (MERSETA)
- Mr Motshatsha J Gondo, President of the National African Farmers Union (NAFU), Limpopo
- Mr Piet Nienaber, Xstrata Alloys
- Mr Phil van Zyl, the Director of ZZ2
- Mr Nikisi Lesufi, Chief Environmental Advisor Chamber of Mines of South Africa

- Dr. Theo De Jager, the Chairperson of Green Economy TWG and also the Deputy President of Agri SA
- Rev. Mautji Pataki, the Chairperson of the Social Cohesion TWG and also the Chairperson of the South African Council of Churches, Limpopo
- Mr Mfundo Mdingi, the Deputy Chairperson of Skills for the Economy TWG and also the CEO of the Mining Qualifications Authority
- Dr. Martyn Davies, the Deputy Chairperson of the Integrated Infrastructure Development TWG and the CEO of Science Frontier Advisory and also a member of the Gordon Institute of Business.
- Dr. Windsor Chan, the Deputy Chairperson of the Enterprise Development TWG and also Executive Manager of China Construction Bank in South Africa
- Mr Roman Crookes, project manager of Medupi power station, Eskom
- Mr Benny Mokaba, the Deputy Chairperson of the Industrial Development TWG and also the Director of Energy Options
- Mr Suwei Zhang, the Deputy Chairperson of Trade & Investment / Finance & Funding TWG, the Managing Director Sino Steel and also the CEO of ASA Metals
- Mr Neville Nicolau, the Chairperson of the Industrial Development TWG and also the CEO Anglo Platinum
- Prof. Rachmond Howard, the Chairperson of Knowledge-Enabled Industry TWG and also the Chairperson of the Research Forum at the University of Limpopo
- Prof. Phindile Lukhele-Olorunju, UNIVEN
- Ms. Glory Khumalo, the Chairperson of the Enterprise Development TWG, the Head of Price Waterhouse Cooper (PWC) and also the Chairperson of Black Management Forum (BMF), Limpopo
- Prof. Tshilidizi Marwala, Deputy Chairperson of Knowledge Enabled Industry TWG and also University of Johannesburg
- Prof. Maredi Mphahlele, Tshwane University of Technology
- Mr Mashudu Tshivhase, CEO of African Legend
- Mr Dan Seabi, the Deputy Chairperson of the Social Cohesion TWG and also Provincial Secretary of Congress of the South African Trade Unions (COSATU), Limpopo.
- Mr William Mabapa, Provincial Secretary of the National Union of Mine (NUM) workers, Limpopo
- Ms. Joyce Tshipa, Member of the Provincial Legislature, Limpopo
- Ms. Monhla Hlahla, the CEO of the Aviation Company of South Africa (ACSA)
- Ms. Nyeleti Mushwana, the CEO of Karibu
- Mr Kganki Matabane, Business unity South Africa

In summing up government's commitment to growth and development, Premier Cassel Mathale said, "we are confident that our partnership with relevant societal structures will give impetus to our implementation of the LEGDP and thereby, assist us in making the necessary impact towards creating a better life for all".

Enquiries: Tebatso Mabitsela 072 263 0563 Government Spokesperson Acting General Manager: Communication Services

Issued by the Office of the Premier